Virtuosi 1: Casal’s Bach

Virtuosi 1: Casal’s Bach

Bach : Cello Suite no. 3 in  C major, BWV 1009
Pablo Casals

[see all Virtuosi posts here]

Pablo Casals brought the 6 Bach cello suites back from obscurity, and his recordings from the 1930’s are about as basic repertoire as you can get. Others have played these works in equally moving but different ways, but you really owe yourself to listen to the originals. The sound is old but listenable, and the performance is something you will not soon forget.



amazon itunes


v073 v074 v075 v076 v077

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *